September Stats

 

Just a quick stats update:

INTEREST RATE REMAINING BASE PAYMENT EXTRA PAYMENTS
Student Loans 3.75% $22,872.24 $180.74 $50.00
Mortgage 3.50% $305,110.58 $2,259.03 $0.00
Total $327,982.82 $2,439.77 $50.00

I’ve got a new $183.34 student loan payment starting tomorrow; I assume that’s a late effect from the bump from 3.73% to 3.75%.

DW and I have been thinking through a move to Florida more seriously, and we think it would be very beneficial.  An additional 7%+ of my salary not going toward state and local taxes would be put directly toward my 401k, and we could probably even max out my 401k contributions.  We’d be able to take the equity from the house (minus lots of money for the sale) to wipe out my student loan debt and increase our taxable investments.  The rest of the monthly savings (from not having a house and from electricity due to shared walls) would go straight to taxable investments as well.

Okay, need to get some sleep, as I still have to get up to an alarm; however, I want to end by saying:  welcome, new readers!  Hope you like it here.  Feel free to introduce yourselves in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

