No Restaurant October

Motivated by this blog post and the ever-vigilant eye of retirement owl, I am issuing a One Month Challenge to everyone who reads this:  stop eating out!  You can spend as much as you want on groceries and processed foods in October, but no restaurants or take-home meals.  Even spending more on groceries, you will probably spend less on food than you normally do; I know we will.*

We usually eat out on our shopping day every week, and we sometimes eat out another time, and this adds up.  It’s important to me to always be looking for ways to optimize our spending – though I’ll admit that I love eating out, because I don’t cook a lot of the things I love at home.  (This is because I don’t have a lot of energy for cooking, things usually don’t turn out as tastily as they do in restaurants, and DW being a vegetarian really limits the things I can cook that both of us will eat.  I got excuses by the dozen.)

Let me know in the comments if you’re participating, and I’ll check in throughout the month to see how you’re doing!  Let’s cut our food budgets together.

 

* We will be out of town for a few days in October, and I’m not counting those days toward this challenge.  Maybe I should, but we’ve gotta start somewhere, and this is it.

2 thoughts on “No Restaurant October

Leave a Reply

