January Stats

It’s been a hectic month – during which I apparently haven’t written anything at all (despite having my best day for views and visitors a couple weeks ago).  I had a week off in the middle of this month, which was amazing; I got to rest and clean and take care of some home projects, and then I got the house ready for eight people staying with us for the Women’s March on Washington.  I meant to write during that week, but I just wasn’t able to get to everything.

This week back at work, I’ve been feeling much more refreshed and much less stressed.  I haven’t had a good break in a long while, and my brain is functioning much better now.  I’ve rearranged some vacation time to have another week-long break in April – I’ve started adding four days to weeks where I have holidays in order to get nine days of break out of four days of vacation.  It’s pretty great, since I have limited vacation time.

When I started tracking my stats a year ago, I declared that I would be debt free by the time I turned 40.  I now intend to do that in a very different way than I did then, but let’s see how I’m progressing anyway:

INTEREST RATE REMAINING BASE PAYMENT EXTRA PAYMENTS
Student Loans 3.86% $22,264.75 $183.54 $0.00
Mortgage 3.50% $299,610.08 $2,259.03 $0.00
Total $321,874.83 $2,442.57 $0.00

The mortgage is under $300k, which is pretty cool.  We’d been paying too much into escrow, so that’s been adjusted and has brought our mortgage payment down.*  The interest rate on my student loans has gone up again, but less than I anticipated, so that’s also cool.

All told, I have paid off $16,618.77, which is 4.91% of my debt when I started tracking.  Not 1/10 of the way there, but I always anticipated paying more after 2016, so that’s okay.

I’ve been getting monetary gifts from my parents and grandparents, but I’ve been donating them to causes in which I believe rather than keeping them.  This is partially because the causes need support and partially because my family won’t take no for an answer when I tell them that I don’t want gifts.  This seems to be a good middle ground.

 

* Not shown in this chart, since I don’t include escrow in the mortgage payment here.  That’s just a recurring expense, not debt repayment.

Leave a Reply

